free hit counters

Ten Turkish Folk Songs

  • Composer: Cemal Reşit Rey (1904-1985)
  • ISBN: 978-605-61557-6-5
  • Pub.Date: August 2011
  • Dimentions: 23 x 30.5 cm.
  • Page Number: 32
  • Price: 15TL.

Buy Now –

Cemal Reşit Rey composed “Ten Turkish Folk Songs for 4-Part Chorus and Piano” in 1963. In this work, the composer took the folk songs “Niksar’ın Fidanları, Süpürgesi Yoncadan, Estergon Kalesi, Tıpır Tıpır Yürürsün, Gemiciler Kalkalım, Helvacı, Tinimini Hanım, Halay, Küpeli Horoz ve Gazi Osman Paşa Türküsü”, which had been compiled from different regions of Turkey and made them polyphonic using particular harmonies. Four years later, in 1967, he decided to transcribe these pieces for piano and created a novel work for piano.

In these transcriptions Rey stayed loyal to the original writing of the “Ten Turkish Folk Songs for 4-Part Chorus and Piano” and created polyphonic piano compositions for four parties. Main tunes of the folk songs mystically wonder among the parties. All parties in the choral composition are reflected with no exception to the piano which offers the interpreter a demanding journey. Despite their complex writing, these compositions give listener the impression of works originally written for piano, rather then Works transcribed from what were originally composed for chorus.

“Ten Turkish Folk Songs for Piano” as a whole, was first played by two of the composer’s students, five of the songs by Vedat Kosal (1957-2000) and the other half by Seher Tanrıyar on November 14, 1973 in İstanbul in the Concert for Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Artistic Career of Cemal Reşit Rey.

Prof. Seher Tanrıyar,
State Conservatory of Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University, İstanbul.